The RBC Taylor Prize is awarded annually to the author whose book best combines an excellent command of the English language, an elegance of style, quality of thought, and a subtlety of perception.

With a desire to increase the impact of the prize cycle for the shortlisted authors and on the genre of literary non-fiction, the 2020 prize cycle will feature the third year of the RBC Taylor Prize Emergent Writer program. The additional requirements this program has for the shortlisted authors are detailed in this submission package.

During the process of preparing the submissions, if any questions arise please email Sheila Kay, Prize Manager at The RBC Taylor Prize is a combination of national promotion and a monetary award. Past history reveals that the strong emphasis the prize places on publicity delivers important promotional benefits for all finalists and the winner. When you submit a book for consideration, it is important to make your writers aware of the prize’s intent to create public engagement and media opportunities and the prize’s compliance requirements regarding participation as outlined in the publishers’ submission package.

The RBC Taylor Prize Emergent Author Mentorship Program requires RBC Taylor Prize shortlisted authors to mentor one of five nationally selected emergent non-fiction writers. The mentorship requires reading a manuscript, engaging in three conversations with the emergent author between the pairing and the prize awarding itself, mentoring the emergent author during RBCTP public and private events, and maintaining a minimum of three months mentorship contact post prize awarding.

In recognition of the increased level of activity, immediately following the award ceremony finalists (including the winning author) will each receive a $5000 purse, the winning author will receive a $25,000 purse. All finalists are required to be available for travel and public engagements from February 26, 2020 culminating in Toronto for the RBC Taylor Prize Event Weekend.

The dates for submissions for the 2020 RBC Taylor Prize are as follows:

  • June 3, 2019, for books published between November 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019
  • August 26, 2019, for books published between June 1, 2019 and August 23, 2019 
  • October 7, 2019 for books published between August 24, 2019 and September 30, 2019
  • November 4, 2019 for books published between October 1, 2019 and October 31, 2019

More information here.